Do as Peggy says

Jess, is this blog post nothing more than a thinly-veiled excuse to look at pictures of Peggy Carter on the internet?

Yes,what’s your point. I stand by my choices. I REGRET NOTHING.

There are so many things to love about Marvel’s Agent Carter TV series that I’m not even going to try and list them all. If you watch the show, you already know the reasons why it’s so fantastic. If you don’t watch the show, then I have nothing more to say to you. GET OFF MY INTERNETZ.

So instead I’ll just focus on one of the many reasons: Peggy’s wardrobe.

Swoon.

Be still my beating heart.

Peggy is my one true lady love and her wardrobe is part of what has cemented her place in my heart. Black Widow may wear a skintight catsuit to beat up the bad guys but Peggy kicks ass and takes names in beautiful post-WW2 dresses and nifty pant suits. Which makes her an extremely popular choice for cosplayers.

Seriously, take ten minutes and look up ‘Peggy Carter cosplay’. Enjoy, then come back and thank me.

And the beauty of Peggy’s costuming is that it can be turned to everyday cosplay. I could get away with wearing it to work whilst secretly channelling Peggy.

Take Peggy’s most iconic look: that beautiful blue suit and red hat from season one.

marvelsagentcarter07

It wasn’t hard to find a pattern that could be used to recreate this, especially given that Simplicity have chosen to basically put a blonde Peggy Carter on the pattern envelope for 8050.

8050_env_front

But what of Peggy’s other looks? Her wardrobe winners tend to combine excellent fit with stunning details. Like this dress with triangular cutouts and binding around the neckline. I’ve found a vintage pattern and an out-of-print Butterick pattern featuring this detailing so I may have to do some Ebay and Etsy stalking soon. The Butterick pattern is a shift dress so completely inappropriate but it could be worth adapting the details for a fit & flare bodice.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Because I particular like these cutouts, I’m also drawn to Deer & Doe’s Datura blouse pattern. Does not in any way fit the ‘become Peggy Carter’ brief but damnit, I like a triangle.

Then there’s Peggy’s navy number with the red bands. I haven’t found an exact pattern match but I think the Colette Dahlia dress replicates the bodice gathering nicely and could look rather cute with red piping on the waistband.

PicMonkey Collage3.jpg

I can’t look at this nautical dress without swooning. Although, to be fair, Peggy generally has that effect on me. Again, no exact pattern match but some possible hacks. I struggled to find wide lapel collars on modern patterns so an Etsy trawl for vintage patterns is probably a safe bet for this style. It’s impossible to see details on the picture I’ve included but there’s a wing collar option in Gertie Sews Vintage Casual that could also work quite well. The white sailor stripes could be added after construction as an embellishment.

PicMonkey Collage4.jpg

Season two (aka Peggy Goes to Hollywood) is the season of pants suits. Not a style I’ve ever really been interested in before but if it’s good enough for Peggy…

Not that I can make trousers, of course, but I’m saving some suggestions here in case I ever do feel up to the challenge.

PicMonkey Collage5.jpg

I definitely approve of high-waisted trousers – anything that keeps my waistline in check gets a ‘yes’ from me – and this pattern from Decades of Style looks like it might fit the bill.

And the top half? This Sewaholic Cordova jacket could be a good call. Especially the collarless style which would allow a classic Peggy wide-lapel shirt to shine. Hey, if you’re going to have huge lapels, you may as well flaunt them. Adding the Colette Juniper trousers as another possibility.

PicMonkey Collage6.jpg

And here ends my initial round-up of Peggy Carter cosplay options. I’ve already got the Simplicity pattern for her blue suit so if I ever get around to actually making it, maybe I’ll be inspired to try something else. And I’m going to keep hunting for the perfect pattern for this red dress of gloriousness…

2 thoughts on “Do as Peggy says

  1. I loved the high waisted navy trousers and red blouse she wore in the episode where her and Jarvis go through the morgue air vent. I think it’s probably the same trousers but the top was long sleeved. I swooned a little bit. I’m thinking of hacking the Deer and Doe Chataigne shorts into trousers though those Decades of Style ones look great.

Leave a Reply

